Navigation auf


Institute of Biomedical Ethics and History of Medicine (IBME)

Premio Pusterla 2019

Premio Pusterla Medizinethik Junior & Senior 2019

Public finale and awarding of the second essay competition for medical students of the University of Zurich in the 1st academic year and physicians working in Switzerland.

Time Wednesday, May 15th 2019, 6p.m.
Place Karl der Grosse, Kirchgasse 14, 8001 Zürich
Welcome address Waltraud Georg, Head Office of Student’s Affairs
The award and ceremony Nikola Biller-Andorno with Hildegard Keller
Jury Brida von Castelberg, Anna Elsner, Jürg Kesselring
Moderation Hildegard Keller
Afterwards Apéro

With heartfelt thanks for the generous commitment of Dr. med. Edio Pusterla, Lugano.

Students of human medicine and dentistry were able to participate in the competition for the Premio Pusterla Junior within the framework of the course "Fundamentals of Ethics in Medicine" in the first year of their studies with a text in which they told about their own experience or an event and reflected ethically, and thus qualified for the public final with a live jury and prize determination. The winner will receive 700 francs, the winning essay will be published in the Schweizerische Ärztezeitung.

In addition, the Premio Pusterla Senior will also be awarded for the first time this year. Doctors working in Switzerland who deal with ethical conflict situations in medical practice in an essay could apply for this prize. The winning text will also be printed in the SAEZ.

The finale with the award ceremonies will take place on 15 May 2019 at 6 p.m. at the Karl der Grosse in Zurich. All members of the Medical Faculty are cordially invited. This is especially true for the students, their relatives and friends.

The competition was initiated and conceived by Prof. Dr. Dr. Nikola Biller-Andorno (Institute of Biomedical Ethics and the History of Medicine, UZH). Prof. Dr. Hildegard Keller (Literaturclub SRF / German Seminar UZH) was also involved in the concept. The jurors were: Dr. Brida von Castelberg, MD; Dr. Anna Elsner and Prof. Jürg Kesselring, MD.

The prize is named after Dr. med. Edio Pusterla, who makes the competition possible with a generous donation for several years.

Contact     Dr. Tobias Eichinger     +41 44 634 40 83